Doña Ana County Democrats Elect Their Leadership Team for 2013-2015

Doña Ana County Chair Christy French
Doña Ana County Chair Christy French

Marking the end of a weeks-long election process which began with local precinct meetings throughout New Mexico’s second largest county in March, Doña Ana County Democrats met Saturday, April 6 to elect their new leadership team for 2013-2015. Reelected were Doña Ana County Chair Christy French and County Vice Chair Bill Gomez.

Doña Ana County District Directors elected for the upcoming two year term are Mary Helen Ratje (District 33); Virginia Gomez (District 34); Stephen Jones (District 35); Chuck Davis (District 36); Terri McBrayer (District 37); Maury Castro (District 39); Patti Gipson (District 52); and Nate Coté (District 53).

Doña Ana County also elected 28 members to the New Mexico Democratic Party State Central Committee (SCC). Under Democratic Party rules the SCC members are apportioned by gender parity. The delegation consists of the top fourteen finishers, male and female, who are elected for a two year term to the State Central Committee from Doña Ana County.

The elected SCC representatives are:

Billy Garrett Rae Fortunato
Maury Castro Terri McBrayer
Stephen Jones Helen Davis
Earl Green Priscilla Chavez
Eugene C. Alvarez Gayle Radom
Richard Longo Mary Jane Garcia
Ron Matthews Mary Helen Garcia
Enrique Vigil Virginia Gomez
Cliff Reed Patti Gipson
Edgar Lopez Barbara Myers
Robert Rodriguez Melba Coyne
Chuck Davis Mary Helen Ratje
Guadalupe Valdivia Monica Gomez
Steven Montaño Frances F. Williams

Doña Ana County Democrats Open Local Campaign Headquarters

State Senator Mary Jane Garcia (center) prepares to cut the ribbon opening the Dona Ana County Democratic Headquarters, cheered on by her fellow Democratic candidates for the November 6 General Election. (From left to right) Marci Beyer, Jonanne Ferrary, Doreen Gallegos, Phillip Archuleta, Mary Jane Garcia, Darren Kugler, Nate Cote, and David Garcia.

The Democratic Party of Doña Ana County held the grand opening of its’ 2012 Campaign Headquarters in Las Cruces on Thursday evening. State and southern New Mexico candidates and a large crowd of local Democrats were on hand for the festive official ribbon cutting which took place prior to the monthly meeting of the Democratic Party. State Senator Mary Jane Garcia drew the honor of cutting the ribbon at the opening ceremony.

Along with the Democratic Party of Doña Ana County, the headquarters, located in the former Popular Building at 136 N. Water Street in downtown Las Cruces, will house the Las Cruces and Doña Ana County campaign offices of Democratic U.S. Senate candidate Martin Heinrich along with the campaign offices of local Doña Ana County and southern New Mexico Democratic candidates.

Along with Heinrich and the County Democratic Party, candidates with offices in the headquarters are State Senator Mary Jane Garcia (D-36), State Representative Mary Helen Garcia (D-34), and State Representative Rudolpho “Rudy” Martinez (D-39), Mark D’Antonio for District Attorney; Phillip Archuleta for State Representative, District 36; Joanne Ferrary for State Representative, District 37; Doreen Gallegos for State Representative, District 52; Joseph Cervantes for State Senator, District 31; William “Bill” Soules for State Senator, District 37; David J. Garcia for County Commissioner, District 2; Wayne Hancock for County Commissioner, District 4; and three candidates for District Judge, Marci Beyer, Darren Kugler, and Mary Rosner. Others utilizing space on an occasional basis in the headquarters will include State Senators Mary Kay Papen (D-38) and John Arthur Smith (D-35); Ellen Wedum for State Senator, District 34; and Nate Cote for State Representative, District 53.

John Kelly, candidate for New Mexico Supreme Court Justice attends the opening in Las Cruces, Thursday, July 19.

Michelle A. Hernandez and John Kelly, two of the five announced candidates who are seeking the Democratic nomination to succeed retiring Supreme Court Justice Patricio M. Serna, travelled south from Albuquerque for the opening of the headquarters in Las Cruces and to meet with southern New Mexico voters. Kelly is a former U. S. Attorney with an extensive background in constitutional issues and civil rights law.

Michelle A. Hernandez, candidate for New Mexico Supreme Court Justice in Las Cruces, Thursday, July 19.

Hernandez has concentrated her practice as a private attorney in the areas of healthcare, products liability, and personal injury law. Under New Mexico statute each of New Mexico’s political parties will select a candidate to face voters in the fall. State Democrats will choose their Supreme Court candidate on August 25.

The Doña Ana County Democratic Party headquarters will begin regular daily staffing later this month.

Doña Ana County Democrats at Southern New Mexico Pride

Doña Ana County Democrats Chair Christy French, Commissioner Billy Garrett, and District Judge candidate Darren Kugler at Southern New Mexico Pride.

Southern New Mexico Democratic candidates and members of the Democratic Party of Doña Ana County, Obama for America-Las Cruces, and the Democratic Women of Doña Ana County teamed up on Saturday for Southern New Mexico Pride, the annual LGBT community festival held at Pioneer Women’s Park in Las Cruces.

Democratic elected officials on hand to greet voters at the Festival were State Representative Joseph Cervantes, who is seeking the State Senate seat in District 31, and County Commissioner Billy Garrett. They were joined by Evelyn Madrid Erhard, the Democratic candidate for Congress in the 2nd District, District Attorney candidate Mark D’Antonio, State Senate candidate Bill Soules, State Representative candidates Phillip Archuleta, Bill McCamley, and Jeff Steinborn, and District Judge candidates Marci Beyer, Darren Kugler, and Mary Rosner.

In addition to participating in the parade and festival and meeting area residents, Doña Ana County’s Democrats registered new voters and talked issues with constituents. Southern New Mexico Pride Festival is held annually in Las Cruces during LGBT Pride Month.


Doña Ana Democrats Kick Off Summer With an Enthusiatic Fundraiser

Energetic Dõna Ana County Democrats braved scorching southern New Mexico heat to pack the house at its June 24 fundraising reception in Las Cruces. The event, which was hosted by State Representative Joseph Cervantes, honored the new County Chair and Vice Chair, Christy French and Bill Gomez, and also saluted our local Party activists and Dõna Ana County’s great Democratic elected officials, past and present.

There’s more photos of the Dõna Ana County Democrats Fundraising Party on Flickr

Click for slideshow