Doña Ana County Democrats Open Local Campaign Headquarters

State Senator Mary Jane Garcia (center) prepares to cut the ribbon opening the Dona Ana County Democratic Headquarters, cheered on by her fellow Democratic candidates for the November 6 General Election. (From left to right) Marci Beyer, Jonanne Ferrary, Doreen Gallegos, Phillip Archuleta, Mary Jane Garcia, Darren Kugler, Nate Cote, and David Garcia.

The Democratic Party of Doña Ana County held the grand opening of its’ 2012 Campaign Headquarters in Las Cruces on Thursday evening. State and southern New Mexico candidates and a large crowd of local Democrats were on hand for the festive official ribbon cutting which took place prior to the monthly meeting of the Democratic Party. State Senator Mary Jane Garcia drew the honor of cutting the ribbon at the opening ceremony.

Along with the Democratic Party of Doña Ana County, the headquarters, located in the former Popular Building at 136 N. Water Street in downtown Las Cruces, will house the Las Cruces and Doña Ana County campaign offices of Democratic U.S. Senate candidate Martin Heinrich along with the campaign offices of local Doña Ana County and southern New Mexico Democratic candidates.

Along with Heinrich and the County Democratic Party, candidates with offices in the headquarters are State Senator Mary Jane Garcia (D-36), State Representative Mary Helen Garcia (D-34), and State Representative Rudolpho “Rudy” Martinez (D-39), Mark D’Antonio for District Attorney; Phillip Archuleta for State Representative, District 36; Joanne Ferrary for State Representative, District 37; Doreen Gallegos for State Representative, District 52; Joseph Cervantes for State Senator, District 31; William “Bill” Soules for State Senator, District 37; David J. Garcia for County Commissioner, District 2; Wayne Hancock for County Commissioner, District 4; and three candidates for District Judge, Marci Beyer, Darren Kugler, and Mary Rosner. Others utilizing space on an occasional basis in the headquarters will include State Senators Mary Kay Papen (D-38) and John Arthur Smith (D-35); Ellen Wedum for State Senator, District 34; and Nate Cote for State Representative, District 53.

John Kelly, candidate for New Mexico Supreme Court Justice attends the opening in Las Cruces, Thursday, July 19.

Michelle A. Hernandez and John Kelly, two of the five announced candidates who are seeking the Democratic nomination to succeed retiring Supreme Court Justice Patricio M. Serna, travelled south from Albuquerque for the opening of the headquarters in Las Cruces and to meet with southern New Mexico voters. Kelly is a former U. S. Attorney with an extensive background in constitutional issues and civil rights law.

Michelle A. Hernandez, candidate for New Mexico Supreme Court Justice in Las Cruces, Thursday, July 19.

Hernandez has concentrated her practice as a private attorney in the areas of healthcare, products liability, and personal injury law. Under New Mexico statute each of New Mexico’s political parties will select a candidate to face voters in the fall. State Democrats will choose their Supreme Court candidate on August 25.

The Doña Ana County Democratic Party headquarters will begin regular daily staffing later this month.